Members of the board, experts and secretariat


Read more about the Council´s members below.



Carl Reinhold

Bråkenhielm, Carl Reinhold

Carl-Reinhold Bråkenhielm is Professor Emeritus of Studies of Worldviews, Uppsala University. His latest publication in English includes The Study of Science and Religion. Sociological, Theological, and Philosophical Perspectives (Pickwick/Wipf and Stock Publishers, 2018). “Experiencing the absence of God” in Harriet A. Harris & Victoria Harrison (Eds.) Atheisms. The philosophy of non-belief (The British Society for the Philosophy of Religion Series, Routledge) is forthcoming in 2023.

Deputy chairperson


Hilding-Rydevik, Tuija

Tuija Hilding-Rydevik is Professor Emeritus in Environmental Assessment at the SLU Swedish Biodiversity Centre (CBM), Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU) in Uppsala. Tuija Hilding-Rydevik’s social science research examines how environmental and sustainability perspectives are used and integrated in different planning and Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) processes.

Tuija is both deputy chaiperson and commissioner.


Sophie Grape

Grape, Sophie

Sophie Grape is an associate professor in applied nuclear physics at the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Uppsala University. Her reserach concerns non-proliferation and nuclear safeguards, and has a focus on non-destructive assay techniques and analysis methods to verify nuclear material. 


Harms-Ringdahl, Mats

Mats Harms-Ringdahl is Professor Emeritus in Radiation Biology at The Centre for Radiation Protection Research, Stockholm University. His interest of research is the health risks from exposure to low doses of ionizing radiation, doses that correspond to the natural background radiation. His research also aims to understand the mechanisms behind variations in sensitivity between different persons, a problem of specific concern in radiotherapy of tumors.


Kaiserfeld, Thomas

Thomas Kaiserfeld is professor of technology and social change at Linköping University. His research concerns technology, science and political life from the 18th century onwards. His main interest has been the interaction between political decision-making and expert advice. Another theme has been the design of organisations created to promote the use of science.


Karlsson, Mikael

Mikael Karlsson is Associate Professor in Environmental Science and leads the Climate Change Leadership unit at Uppsala University. His research concerns sustainable development and risk governance strategies related to e.g. climate change, energy systems and hazardous chemicals. Dr. Karlsson holds a number of expert assignment for the Swedish Government and the European Union. He was previously President of the European Environment Bureau.


Persson, Ingmar

Ingmar Persson is Professor Emeritus of inorganic and physical chemistry at the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU) in Uppsala. His research concerns reaction and structure studies of metal compounds in solution and natural systems as soil and archeological wood, and of metal complexes formed at the extraction of used nuclear fuel using synchrotron light based X-ray methods.


Soneryd, Linda

Linda Soneryd is professor of sociology at the University of Gothenburg. She is also Score Fellow at the Stockholm Centre for Organizational Research (Score), Stockholm University. Linda’s research concerns environmental issues and controversial technologies, with a particular focus on public participation and the possibilities for concerned groups of citizens to take part of decision and planning processes.

Special advisers


Hänninen, Hannu

Hannu Hänninen has been an expert at the Swedish National Council for Nuclear Waste since 2002. He is Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering at Aalto University, School of Engineering. Hänninen conducts research on materials technology, welding technology, nondestructive testing and fracture mechanics and has published more than 300 scientific publications.


Persson, Ingvar

Ingvar Persson, Master of Laws, former General Counsel at the Swedish Nuclear Power Inspectorate. Formerly worked at the Government Offices with matters relating to the Nuclear Activities Act and the Radiation Protection Act. Chairman of Governments Inquiry concerning review of the Radiation Safety legislation. Headed the Swedish delegation in the deliberations leading up to the creation of the Nuclear Waste Convention. Was responsible for issues relating to the Euratom Treaty in the negotiations regarding the Swedish EU membership.



Bergenlöv, Evis

Evis Bergenlöv is administrative officer for the Swedish National Council for Nuclear Waste. Evis is a communicator and has extensive experience of management in the Government Offices. Her previous job was with the the Environmental Advisory Council. Evis has also worked for many years as a press assistant in the political leadership of the Ministry of the Environment.

Telefon: 08-405 20 44 
Mobil: 070-699 39 95


Swedin, Johanna

Johanna Swedin is acting Executive Director.  

Mobile: +46 70 615 24 37